Check Page Rank of your Web site pages instantly:

This page rank checking tool is powered by Page Rank Checker service

Wednesday, March 11, 2009

Siquijor Island

Siquijor is an island province of the Philippines located in the Central Visayas region. Its capital is the municipality also named Siquijor. To the northwest of Siquijor are Cebu and Negros, to the northeast is Bohol and to the south, across the Bohol Sea is Mindanao. Siquijor is the third smallest province in the country both in terms of population and land area, after Camiguin and Batanes. For a time it was sub-province of Negros Oriental. Called Isla del Fuego of the “Island of Fire” by the Spanish before, Siquijor is considered by many Filipinos to be a mystical island, full of witches and other supernatural phenomena. Siquijor is subdivided into 6 municipalities. Siquijor is the capital and most important port. Six municipalities comprise Siquijor Province. These are Siquijor, Larena, Enrique Villanueva, Maria, Lazi, and San Juan. Dominant clan is the Paculba clan which also known to the whole country. The climate in Siquijor like most of the rest of the country is very tropical. It is dry from January to May and wet the rest of the year. Annual rainfall with November having the heaviest rainfall and April having the least. Siquijor's reputation as a place of magic and sorcery both attracts visitors and keeps them away. Among the tourist attractions in Siquijor are beaches, caves, Bandilaan Natural Park, and a butterfly sanctuary.

1 comment:

infinitewebprofit said...

I've been in this place few times and the people are not what they're been seeing in TV.

Also the beaches here are great with crystal clear blue water.